Category: JEA News

28 schools awarded 2024 First Amendment Press Freedom Award

By Kristin Taylor, MJE, scholastic press rights director A committee with representatives from the Journalism Education Association, National Scholastic Press Association, and Quill and Scroll International Honorary Society chose 28 First Amendment Press Freedom Award schools for 2024, the highest ever number of recipients. The committee hopes the number keeps going up in future years…
Read more

JEA 100: Centennial celebration activities at the spring convention

While JEA has centennial activities and programs planned throughout 2024, the in-person celebration will take place in Kansas City during the JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention. All JEA members are invited to attend the spring convention April 4-6 for a JEA reunion recognizing current and former members, leaders, award winners and program participants. Everyone…
Read more

3 superior rankings awarded in JEA Centennial student media contests

The JEA Centennial NSMC contests were all completed online in December and January. In all, 29 students competed in photo, broadcast and writing contests. There were 21 students recognized with three superior, nine excellent and nine honorable mention awards. Some of the winning entries will be broadcast, displayed or published in JEA publications and/or on its affiliated…
Read more

Spring 2024 NSMC prompts available

Online submission materials are made available for use in preparing entries for selected JEA National Student Media Contests.  Each zip file contains contest instructions and all materials needed to complete your entry.  For full contest information, go to the main JEA National Student Media Contests page. Online photo contests 28 Sports Action Photography, 29 Sports Feature Photography,…
Read more

Tate to receive Linda S. Puntney Teacher Inspiration Award

By Louisa Avery, MJE, JEA awards chair Journalism Education Association has named Becky Tate, journalism adviser at Shawnee Mission North High School in Overland Park, Kansas, as its 2024 Linda S. Puntney Teacher Inspiration Award recipient. This award recognizes a teacher who, through the teaching and/or advising of journalism, inspired others to pursue journalism teaching…
Read more

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.