Category: Awards

Walnut Hill teams place 1-2 in National Journalism Quiz Bowl

Fall 2019 Quiz Bowl Winners: Senior Isabel Nissley, junior Delaney Owens, senior Mackienzee Rasheed and junior Abigail Jay from Walnut Hills High School in Cincinnati, Ohio, took home the National Journalism Quiz Bowl trophy from the 2019 JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Washington, D.C. Seniors Isabel Nissley and Mackienzee Rasheed and juniors…
Read more

Fall 2019 National Student Media Contests results

  The Fall 2019 National Student Media Contests in Washington, D.C., included a record number 2,126 student competitors in photo, broadcast, graphic design, literary magazine, design and writing contests. In all, there were 864 winners including 144 Superior, 252 Excellent and 468 Honorable Mentions. Students who had online submissions can see their critiques at…
Read more

JEA names Geabhart its 2019 Broadcast Adviser of the Year

Christina Geabhart, MJE, talks to her class after receiving JEA’s Broadcast Adviser of the Year award presented by last year’s winner, Thomas Gregory, MJE.  The Journalism Education Association has awarded Christina Geabhart, MJE, of Oak Park High School in Kansas City, Missouri, as its 2019 Broadcast Adviser of the Year. Geabhart, who has been teaching…
Read more

Flechtner to receive JEA’s highest honor — the Carl Towley Award

The Journalism Education Association has awarded Bill Flechtner, MJE, of Milwaukie, Oregon, its 2019 Carl Towley Award. Flechtner, who has dedicated nearly five decades to scholastic journalism in a variety of ways, has had a significant impact on advisers in Oregon and across the country. Throughout his years advising student publications, first in Ione and…
Read more

Service-oriented journalism educators to receive JEA’s Medal of Merit

Five individuals who have contributed significantly to the Journalism Education Association and to scholastic journalism throughout their careers will be recognized this fall in Washington, D.C., as Medal of Merit recipients. The award recipients are Brenda Field, Glenbrook South High School, Glenview, Illinois; Connie Fulkerson, Journalism Education Association, Manhattan, Kansas; Pete LeBlanc, Antelope (California) High…
Read more

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.