Category: Awards

SPJ and JEA name winners of 2021 essay contest

The Journalism Education Association and the Society of Professional Journalists announce three scholarship winners in the 2021 SPJ/JEA High School Essay Contest.  More than 275 students participated in the nationwide contest, which was judged by 21 journalism educators from around the country.  Established in 1998, the contest is a project of JEA and SPJ. The…
Read more

2021 Student Impact Award winner uses skills to bravely document protests in Oregon

Stun grenades lobbed in her direction. Tear-gassed multiple nights so she couldn’t see straight. Shoved against the wall by police officers. Guns pointed at her by federal officers. This is not what a journalist signs up for when they are placed on an assignment. This is definitely not what a high school journalist is supposed…
Read more

Atkinson of Kansas named the 2021 JEA Journalist of the Year

By Joe Humphrey, MJE, Journalist of the Year coordinator Riley Atkinson’s high school journalism journey started on an espresso-stained, saggy sofa in the back of the newsroom at Shawnee Mission East High School in Prairie Village, Kansas. “I sat there when I first learned how to export an InDesign document, how to tighten a three-hour-long…
Read more

38 entries receive Superior rating in spring National Student Media Contests

By Nancy Smith, MJE, NSMC chair The National Student Media Contests were all completed virtually for the Spring JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention. In all, 438 students competed in photo, broadcast, graphic design, literary magazine, design and writing contests. There were 218 winning students comprising 38 superior, 80 excellent and 100 honorable mention awards.…
Read more

JEA honors Pennsylvania’s Denkovich as 2021 Aspiring Young Journalist

By Joe Humphrey, MJE, Journalist of the Year Coordinator The Journalism Education Association names Christopher Denkovich as its 2021 Aspiring Young Journalist. Denkovich is editor-in-chief of the Bulldog Barker newspaper at Freedom Area Middle School in Freedom, Pennsylvania. JEA also recognizes two runners-up: Nahshon Cooper of John Hopkins Middle School in St. Petersburg, Florida, and…
Read more

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.