Future Journalism Teacher Scholarships

Deadline: July 15

About the scholarships

Brian Hayes, the first recipient of JEA's Future Journalism Teacher Scholarship, delivers a session a JEA/NSPA convention.

The Journalism Education Association sponsors up to two $1,000 scholarships for education majors who intend to teach scholastic journalism. Each recipient must be a college junior, senior or master’s degree student in a program designed to prepare him/her for teaching at the secondary-school level. Current secondary-school journalism teachers who are in a degree program to improve their journalism teaching skills also are eligible.

Entry criteria

    Each recipient must complete the application and include the following:

  • A 250-word essay explaining his/her desire to teach high school journalism.
  • The answers to the three questions at the bottom of the application form.
  • Two recommendation letters, preferably from those who have firsthand knowledge of his/her work with student journalists, and
    College transcript(s) showing academic standing.

How to apply

To apply for a Future Journalism Teacher Scholarship, fill out this online form. Applications are due July 15.

Award recognition

  • A committee of teachers and university personnel involved in journalism teacher education will make the selection.
  • Scholarships will be awarded by early September. An announcement of the winners will be made on the JEA website and at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention.
  • The scholarship check is sent to the student's college/university account after the winners are announced.

For more information

Candace Perkins Bowen • cbowen@kent.edu • 303-672-8297


July 15



Jordan L. MacMillan, Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.
Andrea M. Negri, MJE, Kent (Ohio) State University


Jessica Hunziker, Kent (Ohio) State University
Jacqueline Hyman, University of Maryland, College Park, Md.
Alexandra J. Crome, Emporia (Kan.) State University

Carissa Rapp (Kent [Ohio] State University)
Ari Karpel (Bard College, Los Angeles)
Tucker Love (Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.)
Andrew Disinger (Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.)

Roth Lovins (Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.)
Jessica Hanthorn (University of Maryland, College Park, Md.)

Amy Beare (Kent [Ohio] State University)
Katie Comeford (Kent [Ohio] State University)
Kelsey Jackson (Kent [Ohio] State University)
Lindsey Ross, CJE (Kent [Ohio] State University)

Taylor Bibler (Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.)
Joel Garver (Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.)
Cody Harrell (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.)

Shelby Brunk (Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.)
Monique Zatcoff (Grand Canyon University, Phoenix, Ariz.)
John Dent (Kent [Ohio] State University)

Patrick R. Johnson, CJE, (Marquette University, Milwaukee, Wis.)
Anna J. Kaiser (Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.)
Samved Sangameswara (University of California, Santa Cruz, Calif.)

Sarah Bergsieker (Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.)
Kathryn Dodge (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.)
Lindsay Cameron (Ashland [Ohio] University)

Sarah Rajewski (Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.)
Jayna Salk (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.)
Jessica Young, CJE (University of California, San Diego, Calif.)

Jincy Gibson (Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.)
Aimee Williams (Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.)
Jessica McLean (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.)

Kip Carlson (Willamette University, Ore.)
Autumn Nolder (Ball State University, Ind.)
Jeremy Whiting (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.)

Agnes Lorraine B. Soriano (Michigan State University, East Lansing, Mich.)
Rutherford Rankin (Emporia State University, Emporia, Kan.)
Anna Kearns (Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.)

Rachel Searcy, Ind.
Sara-Beth O'Connor, MI

Kevin Allen, La.
Tiffany Shogren, Kan.
Adam Maksl, Ind.

Margaret Krohne, Ohio

Ada Anderson, Ind.
Emily Cherry, Kan.
Kellie E. Doyle, Iowa

Kimberly Coffin, Neb.

Jennifer Lennox, Ohio

Brian Hayes, Ind.

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (staff@jea.org), and we'll be happy to assist you.