Linda S. Puntney Teacher Inspiration Award

About the Award

Recognizing a journalism teacher who through excellent instruction inspired others to pursue scholastic journalism teaching and/or advising.

This award recognizes a teacher who, through the teaching and/or advising of journalism, inspired others to pursue journalism teaching as a career and who has made a positive difference in the teaching community. It was named after Linda S. Puntney, JEA's executive director from 1989-2010.

Award Recognition

This is a juried award. Entries are evaluated by a national panel of journalism educators consisting of members of the JEA Awards Committee or individual designated by the JEA Awards Committee chair. Honorable mentions may be given. The winner will be acknowledged at the Spring JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention and formally recognized at the summer JEA Advisers Institute luncheon where the winner will be asked to speak. The winner’s travel and hotel will be paid to the Advisers Institute.


A narrative of at least 500 words should explain how the teacher being nominated inspired the person making the nomination to pursue a career in teaching/advising scholastic journalism. The nomination must be from a teacher who is a member of JEA and who advises a publication or broadcast program, teaches journalism classes or is retired after having spent at least 10 years in scholastic journalism. Retired journalism teachers and advisers, along with those currently teaching or advising may be nominated. Up to three additional letters of support may be included. Nominations of unsuccessful candidates are retained for a maximum of two additional years and the original nominator is invited to send updated information by the appropriate deadline. Nominators may renominate unsuccessful candidates for consideration after the initial three years.

Please fill out this form to nominate an individual for the Linda S. Puntney Teacher Inspiration award. Nominations are due Dec. 15.


Becky Tate, Shawnee Mission North, Overland Park, Kansas

Aaron Manfull, MJE, Francis Howell North High School, St. Charles, Missouri

Nicole Kraft, Ph.D., The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio

Jim Jordan, Walsworth Yearbooks, Fair Oaks, California

Kim Green, MJE, Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.

Mary Kay Downes, MJE, Chantilly (Va.) High School

Brenda Gorsuch, MJE, Mills River, N.C.

Nancy Hastings, MJE, Highland, Ind.

Susan Hathaway Tantillo, MJE, McHenry, Ill.

Karen Flowers, CJE, South Carolina Scholastic Press Association and Southern Interscholastic Press Association, Columbia, S.C.

Jim McGonnell, Findlay (Ohio) High School

Candace Perkins Bowen, MJE, of Kent State University

Brian Hayes, MJE, Ball State University, Muncie, Ind.

Linda S. Puntney, Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kan.

Janet Levin, John Hersey High School, Arlington Heights, Ill.

Mary Pulliam, Duncanville (Texas) High School

Joy L. Lessard, Ellensburg (Wash.) High School

Linda Drake, Chase County High School, Cottonwood Falls, Kan.

Richard Johns, Quill and Scroll, Iowa City, Iowa

Kay D. Phillips, Henderson, N.C.

Betsy Owen, Delray Beach, Fla.

H.L. Hall, Hendersonville, Tenn.

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.