Author: Lindsay Porter

McCarthy named the 2020 Broadcast Adviser of the Year

By Erinn Harris, MJE, awards committee chair  The Journalism Education Association has named Jim McCarthy of Joseph A. Gregori High School in Modesto, California, its 2020 Broadcast Adviser of the Year. Involved in publications since he began teaching in 1998, McCarthy describes himself as “very project oriented,” a mindset that has not only served him…
Read more

Attendees encouraged to review technology requirements for virtual fall convention

This fall’s convention is completely virtual, and with that comes many accommodations and changes to programs and processes that usually accompany an on-site convention. For an on-site convention, attendees show up, find a seat and enjoy the experience.  For a virtual convention, however, attendees need to access the convention platform through your personal or school…
Read more

JEA book review: ‘Culturally Responsive Teaching and the Brain’ serves as a toolkit for culture and diversity independent learning

By Sarah Verpooten, MJE and Kristin Taylor, CJE This book review is first in a series of resources JEA is recommending to advisers in an effort to provide antiracist teaching resources to educators. JEA is committed to diversity, equity and inclusion in its membership and practices. See the official statement here. Overview Education consultant Zaretta…
Read more

First-time convention grant

First-time attendee grant makes JEA/NSPA convention experience more accessible

New advisers eager for professional development and veteran advisers who have shied away from the convention price tag can get assistance to attend the Fall JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention this November. The JEA/NSPA National High School Journalism Convention is a one-of-a-kind experience for media advisers and students. The fall 2020 virtual event comprises…
Read more

Carl Towley Award

Fulkerson receives Carl Towley Award, JEA’s highest honor

By Erinn Harris, MJE, awards committee chair The Journalism Education Association has named Connie Fulkerson, CJE, of Manhattan, Kansas, its 2020 Carl Towley Award recipient. “Connie knows JEA like no one else,” retired Texas journalism teacher Wayna Polk, MJE, said. “During my nine years of serving in an elected position on the JEA board, Connie…
Read more

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.