Meet your 2024 board of directors

Meet your 2024 board of directors

The Journalism Education Association’s board of directors office terms begin May 1 of each election year. The JEA board consists of the president, vice president, scholastic press rights director, educational initiatives director and three directors-at-large.

The 2024-2025 board of directors:

  • Valerie Kibler, MJE, president (2023-2025)
  • Justin Daigle, MJE, vice president (2023-2025)
  • Shari Adwers, MJE, educational initiatives director (2023-2025)
  • Andrea Negri, MJE, scholastic press rights director (2024-2026)
  • Brenda Field, MJE, director-at-large (2023-2025)
  • Debra Klevens, CJE, director-at-large (2023-2025)
  • Sandra Coyer, MJE, director-at-large (2024-2026)

The 2024 general election took place Feb. 19-26, 2024. Of the 2,442 total ballots successfully emailed, 308 members voted.

The president, vice president and directors are elected to two-year terms and shall serve no more than two consecutive terms in the same capacity. After two consecutive terms, the individual may run again for a different office or may run for the same office again in two years. Appointed positions are two-year commitments with no term limits.

Founded in 1924, JEA supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, promoting professionalism, encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity. It is headquartered at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas.

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.