Candidates announced for JEA board election

Candidates announced for JEA board election

The final slate of JEA board of director candidates was announced during the JEA general membership meeting at the JEA/NSPA Fall National High School Journalism Convention in Washington, D.C., on Nov. 22, 2019. Information about each candidate will be available on in January. A special email distribution list (Listserv) will be set up specifically for election- and campaign-related discussion, and candidates will refrain from using the JEAHELP listserv for this purpose. Look for information on how to participate in the special email Listserv in late December. 

2020 JEA Board of Directors Candidates

President: Sarah Nichols, MJE

Vice President: Val Kibler, MJE

Director, Scholastic Press Rights: Kristin Taylor, CJE

Director, Educational Initiatives: Shari Adwers, MJE

Directors-at-large (3):
Barbara Bateman, CJE
Phillip Caston
Brenda Field, MJE
Michael Malcom-Bjorkland, CJE
Katie Merritt, MJE
Laura Negri, CJE
Erin Sucher-O’Grady, CJE
Sarah Verpooten, MJE

Important Election Dates

Jan. 15, 2020 – Voter rolls gathered. Be sure your membership is current.
Jan. 20 – 25 – JEA election listserv is open. (Details on JEAHELP in late December).
Feb. 5 – Ballots emailed to teacher/adviser members.
Feb. 17 – Ballots due.
Feb. 18 – Winners announced.
March 2 – Runoff election (if necessary)
March 9 – Runoff ballots due.
March 10 – Runoff election winners announced
May 1 – New board takes office

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.