Category: Uncategorized

JEA Advisers Institute will return to New Orleans in 2020 and 2021

The Journalism Education Association signed contracts with the Ace Hotel in New Orleans for 2020 and 2021 to host its summer Advisers Institute. The motion passed 7-0 in an electronic vote conducted by the board of directors Aug. 17, 2019. “The move to bring JEA Advisers Institute to New Orleans was popular, but the venue…
Read more

JEA announces new curriculum leaders

The Journalism Education Association has selected six new curriculum leaders to work on the 2019-20 curriculum initiative. These new curriculum leaders will work across multiple areas to improve how JEA’s hundreds of lessons can be used in a variety of classrooms. Leaders will develop new curriculum, create adaptations and modifications to existing lessons, update exemplars…
Read more

New hire starts at JEA headquarters office

The Journalism Education Association welcomed Cindy Horchem July 16 as its new office specialist for the  headquarters office located at Kansas State University. Horchem will work part time serving the needs of nearly 3,000 JEA members. If the name sounds familiar, it might be because Horchem was a longtime journalism adviser and JEA member in…
Read more

St. Louis and San Francisco selected as future NHSJC locations

The Journalism Education Association approved two new proposals for the National High School Journalism Convention, signing contracts in St. Louis for fall 2022 and San Francisco for spring 2023. Both motions passed 7-0 in online votes conducted by the board of directors May 22. The contracts also were approved by the National Scholastic Press Association, JEA’s…
Read more

10 to receive JEA Lifetime Achievement Award

Ten individuals who have contributed significantly throughout their scholastic journalism careers have been named Journalism Education Association Lifetime Achievement Award recipients. They will be honored April 25-27 at the JEA/NSPA Spring National High School Journalism Convention in Anaheim, California. The award recipients are Dan Austin, Granite Bay, California; Deanne Brown, Austin, Texas; John Cutsinger, CJE,…
Read more

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.