Category: JOY recipients

Alex Benito earns journalist of the year recognition

Sixth Texan, first sibling of previous recipient, given JEA scholarship By Lisa Van Etta Adviser, Cypress Falls High School It began two years ago. I sat at my desk, cursing the scientific world for its failure to have perfected the human cloning mystery. I desperately wanted, no needed or so I thought, to clone Marcelino…
Read more

Amanda Allison named 2007 Student Journalist of the Year

RELEASED APRIL 2007 While hundreds of high school journalists from all across the country worked hours on completing their 36 page portfolios for their state contests, JEA recognized 31 state winners at the awards ceremony at the conclusion of the JEA/NSPA spring convention in Denver. When the final results were announced, six students were named…
Read more

Marcelino Benito, Jr. named 2006 Student Journalist of the Year

High school journalist of the year competition was begun by JEA to award outstanding high school journalists from all over the country. The competition this year attracted hundreds of entries in some states and none in others. When the 32 state JOY portfolios were perused by the 19 members of the scholarship committee in San…
Read more

Libby Nelson named 2005 Student Journalist of the Year

RELEASED APRIL 2005 Libby Nelson Shawnee Mission East High School Prairie Village, Kansas According to her adviser, Libby Nelson leads a staff of 43 to produce a paper every two weeks. Her efforts as a writer have earned her a national Federation for Women Press Award for feature writing, and she also won second place…
Read more

Lauren Miller named 2004 Student Journalist of the Year

The 2004 student Journalist of the Year competition required the review of state winners from 34 states. Thursday, 15 judges from all seven JEA membership regions selected four runners-up and one national Student Journalist of the year. Each portfolio was evaluated on quality, scope and impact in five areas: skilled and creative use of media,…
Read more

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.