Author: David Hazelwood

Certification Committee Updates CJE Requirements

August 1, 2020 Effective immediately, the Certified Journalism Educator program will be simplified to one option. All applicants will complete the same application, submit the same documents and take the CJE exam. “The Certification Committee’s goals include promoting professionalism in scholastic journalism by offering certification. The rigor of the CJE exam shows educators’ knowledge and…
Read more

Spring 2020 Semiannual Report

Posted March 15, 2020. JEA’s semiannual report contains updates from staff, board members, committee chairs, state directors and liaisons. Kelly Glasscock, CJE Executive Director, Journalism Education Association 105 Kedzie Hall 828 Mid-Campus Dr. S. Manhattan, KS 66506-1500 Phone: 785-532-7822 Contact Memberships: Voting membership stands at 2,616, which is 19 fewer than a comparable time last spring; however,…
Read more

JEA announces 2020 election results

Sarah Nichols, MJE, of Whitney High School, Rocklin, California, has been elected as the 35th president of the national Journalism Education Association and will lead the JEA board for three more years starting May 1. Nichols received 100 percent of the 426 votes cast for an unanimous endorsement of the voting members of the organization.…
Read more

2020 JEA election candidate statements

President Sarah Nichols, MJE Bio: For 21 years, Sarah Nichols, MJE, has been teaching journalism and advising student media. Whitney High Student Media (Details yearbook, The Roar newsmagazine and Whitney Update website) is a nationally award-winning program in Rocklin, California. Nichols has been involved in JEA’s leadership since 2009, serving with Scholastic Press Rights, Digital…
Read more

General Meeting Minutes, Fall Washington, D.C.

Minutes Journalism Education Association General Membership Meeting Nov. 22, 2019 • 8 a.m. Lincoln 2, Exhibition Level • Marriott Wardman Park • Washington, D.C. CALL TO ORDER President Sarah Nichols called the meeting to order at 8 a.m. ATTENDEES Board Members: Sarah Nichols, Val Kibler, Lori Keekley, Megan Fromm, Michael Malcom Bjorklund, Laura Negri, Julia…
Read more

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.