Agenda for the Nov. 19, 2020 board meeting

Agenda for the Nov. 19, 2020 board meeting


Journalism Education Association Board Meeting

Nov. 19, 2020 • 9 a.m.

Click here to download the board packet.

I. Call to order — Sarah Nichols (9 a.m.)

II. Roll call and determination of quorum — Cindy Horchem

III. Reading of notice of meeting — Cindy Horchem

IV. Approval of minutes — Sarah Nichols

V. Affirmation of electronic votes — Sarah Nichols

A. Motion to sign MOU with NAMLE for the Media Literacy Education Alliance

(passed 7-0, May 6, 2020)

B. Motion to approve Ace Hotel proposal for Advisers Institute 2022

(passed 7-0, May 6, 2020)

C. Motion to approve Hubb as the platform for the fall virtual National High School Journalism Convention

(passed 7-0, July 3, 2020)

D. Motion to authorize executive director negotiations for Marriott World Center Orlando November 2020 contract (passed 7-0, July 3, 2020)

E. Motion to approve administrative furlough payment to Kansas State University

(passed 7-0, July 18, 2020)

F. Motion to approve resolution for JEA board to provide open, free content

(passed 7-0, July 30, 2020)

G. Motion to approve change in banking (passed 7-0, Aug. 31, 2020)

H. Motion to approve contract negotiations for Gaylord Opryland Nashville 

(passed 7-0, Sept. 30, 2020)

I. Motion to approve Marriott World Center Orlando contract

(passed 7-0, Sept. 30, 2020)

J. Motion to approve contract negotiations for Seattle

(passed 7-0, Oct. 7, 2020)

VI. Approval of agenda — Sarah Nichols

VII. Commendations — Sarah Nichols

A. Tracy Anderson — Aaron Manfull

B. Amy Sorrell — Sarah Nichols

C. Val Kibler — Sarah Nichols

D. Linda Shockley — Sarah Nichols

E. Jim Ewert — Sarah Nichols

VIII. Reports

A. National Student Media Contests — Nancy Smith

B. National Scholastic Press Association — Laura Widmer

C. Conventions — Kelly Glasscock

D. Headquarters — Kelly Glasscock

1. Documentation of subsequent events

E. Awards — Erinn Harris

F. Certification — Amy Sorrell

IX. New business

A. Approval of 990 — Sarah Nichols

B. Journalist of the Year — Joe Humphrey

C. National Diversity Audit — Sarah Nichols

X. Adjournment

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.