JEA honors dean, representative with Friend of Scholastic Journalism award

JEA honors dean, representative with Friend of Scholastic Journalism award

Two individuals who have made significant contributions to scholastic journalism will be honored by the Journalism Education Association this fall. Each will receive the Friend of Scholastic Journalism Award Nov. 23 at the National High School Journalism Convention in Washington, D.C.

The award recipients are Marie Hardin, dean of Penn State University’s Bellisario College of Communications, and Rep. Julie Mayberry, who serves in the Arkansas Legislature.

Marie Hardin, State College, Pennsylvania, has been the powerhouse behind the strong relationship between the Bellisario College and the Pennsylvania Scholastic Press Association. As the dean of the college, Hardin oversees the cooperation, use of space, support at conventions, faculty judging for competitions, and more. “In fact, I’m not sure that much of what we do to support journalism education in Pennsylvania would be possible without her,” said adviser Kate Plows, CJE, of Strath Haven High School.

Hardin goes beyond providing staff and other resources to make sure the high school student journalists are getting the most of their experience and the advisers are always reenergized. “After discussing my concerns about taking over the [PSPA] presidency with Marie, she offered me some advice,” Paul Fantaski said, “’Always do your best to keep a positive attitude, and let every decision that you make better the journalism opportunities for the kids of PA.’”



Rep. Julie Mayberry of Hensley, Arkansas, made a significant impact on scholastic journalism in her state, following the censorship of the Herald newspaper at Har-Ber High School last December. Since then, Mayberry has worked with the Arkansas Scholastic Press Association to introduce and pass multiple bills that provided protection to student journalists and provide more protection to student voices.

As a former broadcast journalist and the current publisher of The East Ender newspaper, Mayberry “understood the importance of journalism in government,” said nominator Andrew Young, CJE, who teaches at Woodland Junior High School in Fayetteville, Arkansas. Her work ensured others would see the importance of journalism, too.

“She sees the press as an essential part of the high school curriculum,” ASPA Executive Director Kristy Cates said. “She has championed our cause to make high school journalism essential in Arkansas.”

Founded in 1924, JEA supports free and responsible scholastic journalism by providing resources and educational opportunities, by promoting professionalism, by encouraging and rewarding student excellence and teacher achievement, and by fostering an atmosphere which encompasses diversity yet builds unity. It is headquartered at Kansas State University, Manhattan, Kansas.

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (, and we'll be happy to assist you.