Minutes from April 7, 2017, general membership meeting

Minutes from April 7, 2017, general membership meeting

Minutes were unanimously approved Nov. 17, 2017, in Dallas.

The general membership meeting of the Journalism Education Association was held Friday, April 7, 2017, in the Ballard room at the Sheraton Seattle hotel. It began at 8 a.m. and was presided over by Mark Newton with Connie Fulkerson as secretary.

Board members: Mark Newton, president; Sarah Nichols, vice president; Candace Bowen, past president; John Bowen, scholastic press rights director, Megan Fromm, educational initiatives director; Carrie Faust, director at large; Stan Zoller, director at large

Committee chairs: Aaron Manfull, Bradley Wilson, Rebecca Pollard, Evelyn Lauer, Kim Green, Jonathan Rogers, Linda Barrington, Adam Dawkins.

Staff: Linda Puntney, interim executive director; Connie Fulkerson, administrative assistant.

State directors: Kristi Rathbun, Renee Burke, Nina Quintana, Michael Reeves, R.J. Morgan, Leslie Dennis, Beatrice Motamedi, C.E. Sikkenga, Nancy Hastings, Sue Skalicky, Sandra Coyer, Erin Castellano, Jon Reese, Susan Massy, Brenda Field, Marva Hutchinson, Matthew LaPorte, Jessica Bramer, Linda Ballew

Members: Laura Widmer, Karen Slusher, Patricia Johnson, Rod Satterthwaite, Jeff Kocur, Lori Keekley, Pia Loginotti, Howard Spanogle (asst. C:JET editor), Tracy Anne Sena, Shari Adwers, Linda Drake, Kelly Glasscock, Val Kibler, Tom Gayda, Joe Humphrey, Julia Satterthwaite.

Motion: A motion to approve the minutes of the 2016 Indianapolis meeting was made by Linda Barrington and seconded Carrie Faust. (passed unanimously)


  1. A. Summary of board action — Mark Newton
  1. 1. Affirmation of electronic votes:

Motion to endorse Indiana New Voices legislation (passed 7-0, Feb. 14, 2017).

Motion to endorse Vermont New Voices legislation (passed 7-0, Feb. 14, 2017).

  1. 2. Presented numerous commendations
  1. a. Scholastic Press Rights Commission members — John Bowen
  2. b. Fern Valentine — John Bowen
  3. c. Frank LoMonte – Mark Newton
  4. d. Adam Dawkins, MJE — Evelyn Lauer
  5. e. JEA Headquarters staff — Sarah Nichols
  6. f. Bradley Wilson, MJE — Sarah Nichols
  7. g. Megan Fromm, MJE and Sarah Nichols, MJE — Mark Newton
  8. h. Candace Bowen, MJE, John Bowen, MJE, Carrie Faust, MJE and Stan Zoller, MJE — Mark Newton
  1. 3. Approved the Student Free Expression statement proposed by the Scholastic Press Rights committee.
  2. 4. Approved that JEA join the Campaign for the Civic Mission of schools as a member organization of the campaign steering committee.
  3. 5. Approved a proposal to fund a retreat for the new JEA board.
  4. 6. Approved the budget for the 2017-18 fiscal year.
  1. B. Conventions

Sandra Coyer, Seattle convention chair, welcomed everyone to the convention.

Motion: Moved by Joe Humphrey and seconded by Sue Skalicky to commend the Seattle local committee for their work leading up to and during the convention. (passed unanimously)

Linda Puntney said JEA and NSPA are confirming plans for conventions in Orlando for fall 2020 and Boston for fall 2021.

  1. C. Financial reports

Linda S. Puntney reported that the net revenue on JEA’s profit and loss statement was $71,491.48 as of April 3, 2017.

  1. D. Other reports

Mentoring: Linda Barrington said this is her 20th convention to discuss the mentoring. Mark Newton thanked her for her leadership in developing this program.

Director-at-large: Stan Zoller said to be sure to get “We are not the enemy” stickers. The student who designed the Student Journalism Week logo also designed this sticker.

Susan Massy, Kansas state director, said the state is celebrating the 25th year of its freedom of expression law, the Kansas Student Publications Act.

President Mark Newton commended the committee chairs for their work during the current term. Each received a certificate: Casey Nichols, Aaron Manfull, Rebecca Pollard, Bradley Wilson, Jonathan Rogers, Evelyn Lauer, Nancy Smith, Linda Barrington.

Vice President Sarah Nichols commended Mark Newton for his leadership as president and presented a gift to him.

Sarah Nichols, as president-elect, introduced newly elected board members, who will take office May 1: Val Kibler, vice president; Megan Fromm, Educational Initiatives director; Lori Keekley, Scholastic Press Rights director; Joe Humphrey, Tom Gayda and Julia Satterthwaite, directors-at-large.

Linda Puntney introduced Kelly Glasscock, JEA’s new executive director, who will officially begin work Aug. 1.


Stan Zoller moved and Carrie Faust seconded to adjourn the meeting. Mark Newton adjourned the meeting at 8:57 a.m.


The next meeting of the general membership of the Journalism Education Association will be 8 a.m. Nov. 17, 2017, at the Hyatt Regency in Dallas.

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (staff@jea.org), and we'll be happy to assist you.