Minutes from April 10, 2014, board of directors meeting

Minutes from April 10, 2014, board of directors meeting

The Journalism Education Association board of directors meeting was held Thursday, April 10, 2014, at 8 a.m. at Aqua Salons AB, Level 3, Hilton San Diego Bayfront, the president being in the chair and the secretary being present.

Official Minutes

I. President Mark Newton calls the meeting the order.

II. Roll call:

(voting members)

Mark Newton, president; Sarah Nichols, vice president; Mitch Eden, secretary; Jack Kennedy, past president; Sandra Coyer, Region 1; Carrie Faust, Region 2; Gary Lindsay, Region 3; Wayna Polk, Region 4; Brenda Gorsuch, Region 5; Rod Satterthwaite, Region 6; Jane Blystone, Region 7; Kim Green, certification commission; John Bowen, scholastic press rights commission; Anita Marie Wertz, junior high/middle school commission

(Non-voting members)

Kelly Furnas, executive director; Connie Fulkerson, awards committee; Candace Bowen, educational initiatives; Linda Barrington, mentoring committee; Peggy Gregory, mentoring committee; Aaron Manfull, digital media; Nancy Smith, Write-offs; Priscilla Frost, Write-offs; Aaron Engleman, broadcast contest coordinator, Howard Spanogle, Communication: Journalism Education Association assistant editor; Kris Doran, taking over Aaron’s spot; Al Tims, NSPA board president; Diana Mitsu Klos, NSPA executive director

III. Reading of notice of meeting — Mitch Eden

This was posted on jea.org on March 17, 2014: “The Journalism Education Association board of directors will meet at 8 a.m. on Thursday, April 10, 2014, in Aqua Salons AB of the Hilton San Diego Bayfront.”

IV. Approval of the Minutes

Motion: Jack Kennedy. Second: Sandra Coyer.

V. Affirmation of electronic votes — Mitch Eden

A. Motion to endorse the “1 for All” program. (passed 13-0, March 11, 2014)

VI. Approval of agenda — Mark Newton

Motion: Carrie Faust. Second: Wayna Polk.

VII. Commendations — Mark Newton

A. Lizabeth Walsh, MJE (Certification Option C)

B. Pam Boller (HQ staff, increased advertising)

C. Lori Keekley, MJE and Megan Fromm, CJE (curriculum editing)

D. Nancy Smith, MJE (service to JEA)

E. Linda Barrington, MJE (service to JEA)

F. Peggy Gregory, MJE (service to JEA)

G. Bradley Wilson, MJE (service to JEA)

H. Brian Wilson, MJE (service to JEA)

I. Aaron Manfull, MJE (BAOY, service to JEA)

J. Kim Green, MJE (service to JEA)

K. Anita Marie Wertz, MJE (service to JEA)

L. Jane Blystone, MJE (service to JEA)

M. Sandra Coyer, MJE (service to JEA)

N. Brenda Gorsuch, MJE (service to JEA)

O. Gary Lindsay, MJE (service to JEA)

P. Wayna Polk, MJE (service to JEA)

Q. Rod Satterthwaite, MJE (service to JEA)

R. Mitch Eden, MJE (service to JEA)

S. Jack Kennedy, MJE (service to JEA)

VIII. Old business

A. Certification Poynter project — Kim Green

Would like to bring it up as an agenda item at a later time to align with the new curriculum initiative.

B. Convention hotel options — Kelly Furnas

Room With a View partnership is a great partnership as they are able to get members in the site hotel after we have used our block.

C. JEA/KSU contract — Mark Newton

Motion to accept the contract with Kansas State with additions. Motion carries (13-0).

IX. New business

A. Advertising — Bradley Wilson

Motion from magazine advisory committee: Whereas JEA has, for about 15 years, been accepting advertising for its magazine; whereas JEA has only this year begun accepting advertising online; and whereas both types of advertising are handled by different people with no coordination; therefore, be it resolved that JEA develop an advertising policy to include policies and procedures for advertising in all JEA media. Motion fails.

B. Convention proposal, fall 2017 — Kelly Furnas

Executive directors from both JEA and NSPA recommend approval of a contract proposal from the Hyatt Regency, Dallas, to host the Fall 2017 National High School Journalism Convention. Motion carries.

C. 2014-15 budget — Mark Newton

Motion to accept the Finance Committee JEA 2014-15 fiscal year amended budget. Motion carries.

X. Reports

A. NSPA report — Diana Mistu Klos

Wanting to tailor our sponsorships to benefit students and advisers the most. Specifically, marrying sponsors to technology.

B. BAOY — Aaron Manfull

Will be given Sunday. Please thank Lindenwood for sponsoring the award this year.

C. Conventions update — Kelly Furnas

2,982 currently in San Diego

D. Headquarters report — Kelly Furnas

We are on track to where I want us to be. Happy with that and see no risk of us going in the red. We did post the web developer position again.

E. Curriculum project — Kelly Furnas and Sarah Nichols

Website is up and features listings for all 14 areas.

F. JEA Day of Doing — Mark Newton

They have done a great job with branding and promotion.

G. FAPFA award and other First Amendment recognition — John Bowen

We have 6 FAPFA winners. Two first-school award winners.

H. SPRC/CSJ research — John Bowen

Censorship survey online results are in, and its finding will be published later.

I. New board structure — Mark Newton

Motion to Adjourn: Carrie Faust. Second: Kim Green

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (staff@jea.org), and we'll be happy to assist you.