Minutes from Nov. 15, 2013, general membership meeting

Minutes from Nov. 15, 2013, general membership meeting

General membership meeting
Nov. 14, 2013
Boston Sheraton

Official minutes

I. President Mark Newton calls the meeting the order.

II. Roll call – Mitch Eden

(board members)
Mark Newton, president; Sarah Nichols, vice president; Jack Kennedy, past president; Sandra Coyer, Region 1 director; Carrie Faust, Region 2 director; Gary Lindsay, Region 3 director; Wayna Polk, Region 4 director; Brenda Gorsuch, Region 5 director; Rod Satterthwaite, Region 6 director; Jane Blystone, Region 7 director; Kim Green, certification commission; John Bowen, scholastic press rights commission; Anita Marie Wertz, junior high/middle school commission; Mitch Eden, secretary

(attendees who signed in)
Kelly Furnas, executive director; Connie Fulkerson, awards committee; Candace Bowen, educational initiatives; Linda Barrington, mentoring committee; Aaron Manfull, digital media; Leah E. Waters, member; Margaret Sorrows, member; Patrick Johnson, member; Sandy Jacoby, state director; Kay Windsor, member; Barbara Erickson, member; Joe Humphrey, member; Mary Ann McCloud, member; Peggy Gregory, member; Lori Oglesbee, member; Alyssa Boehringer, member; Jeanne Acton, member; Jessica Young, member; Bill Flechtner, member; Sharon Martin, member; Susan Massey, state director; Renee Burke, state director; Christy Briggs, member; Liz Walsh, member; Beatrice Motamedi, state director; Jo Zimmerman, member; Sue Everett, state director; Bernadette Crammer, member; Karl Grubaugh, member; Homer Hall, committee chair/liaison; Nancy Hastings, state director; Tom Gayda, member; Leslie Shipp, state director; Carrie Wadycki, member; Sarah Lannan, member; Sarah Verpooten, member; Kristi Ratribur, member; Stephanie Jones, member; Stan Zoller, state director; Matthew Schott, member; Jim Streisel, member; Matt Rasgorusek, member; Cyndi Crothers-Hyatt, member; Susan Housiman, state director; Robert Hankes, member; Linda Drake, member; Bob Bair, member; Marsha Kalkowski, member; Sue Skalicky, member; Tracy Sena, member; Ellen Austin, member; Jon Reese, state director; Michael Doyle, member; Jeremy Steele, member; Valerie Kibler, member; Chris Grasseschi, state director; Marra Hutchinson, member; Megan Fromm, member; Shari Andrews, member; Steve O’Donoghue, committee chair/liaison; Lori Keekley, member; Kathy Schrier, member; Georgia Dunn, member; Wayne Dunn, member; Jesse Sutherland, member, Karen Flowers, member; Carol Lange, member; Beth Fitts, state director; Heather Nagel, member.

III. Approval of the Minutes

Motion: Wayna Polk. Second: Kim Green.

IV. Reports

A. Summary of board action – Mitch Eden

Affirmation of electronic votes — Mitch Eden

  • Motion to accept resolution recognizing Yvonne C. Liu’s future bequest of $25,000. (passed 13-0, June 13, 2013)
  • Motion to accept proposal from the Westin Las Vegas Hotel to host the JEA Advisers Institute in summers of 2014 and 2015. (failed 8-0-1, July 25, 2013)
  • Reconsider motion to accept proposal from the Westin Las Vegas Hotel to host the JEA Advisers Institute in summers of 2014 and 2015. (passed 11-0-1, July 26, 2013)
  • Motion to accept proposal to amend official bylaws. (passed 11-2, Aug. 30, 2013)


  • Brian Baron, Boston convention local chair
  • Megan Fromm, news literacy projects
  • Tom Gayda, service to JEA
  • Julie Dodd, service to JEA
  • Aaron Manfull, BAOY
  • Sarah Nichols, Jack Kennedy, Bradley Wilson, Mitch Eden, RFP committee

Old business

  • Motion: Add a scholarship donation checkoff box to the JEA membership registration. (Mitch Eden, dues committee). Motion carries
  • Motion: Add an SPLC check-off donation box to the JEA membership registration. (Mitch Eden, dues committee). Motion carries
  • Motion: Therefore be it resolved JEA negotiates a contract for 2014-2018 to remain at Kansas State University. Motion carries (14-0)

B. Conventions – Kelly Furnas

Kelly said the final number as of Thursday night was 5,491 (largest since DC in 2009). Once Boston is over we will work with some speed to secure a 2017 date.

C. Financial reports – Kelly Furnas

Kelly reported that the organization is healthy in terms of income and assets. Kelly said total membership is holding steady and he is very comfortable with where we are.

D. Items of concern, attention, update – officers, directors, chairs

John Bowen: Dec. 1 is the deadline for the FAPFA. You apply for that every year.

Aaron Manfull – Broadcast Adviser of the YEar

Linda Barrington – Mentor Program

Connie Fulkerson – San Diego program proposals

Kim Green – certification commission

Jack Kennedy – nominations committee; slate as proposed to the board:


  • Mark Newton, MJE
  • Lori Oglesbee, MJE

Vice President

  • Linda Drake, MJE
  • Sarah Nichols, MJE

East Regional Director

  • Jane Blystone, MJE
  • Brenda Gorsuch, MJE
  • Stan Zoller, MJE

West Regional Director

  • Carrie Faust, MJE
  • Jonathan Rogers, MJE
  • Tracy Anne Sena, CJE
  • Jessica Young, CJE

Professional Support Director

  • Erin Coggins, MJE
  • Megan Fromm, CJE
  • Gary Lindsay, MJE
  • Anita Marie Wertz, MJE

Scholastic Press Rights Director

  • John Bowen, MJE

Jeanne Acton: Nominate Dow Tate for vice president

Brenda Gorsuch – Quiz Bowl

V. New business

A. Matters introduced by members

Barbara Erickson: Introduces resolution to recognize the value of the JEA Mentor program. Second: Jessica Young. Resolution carries.

Jack Kennedy: Move the local committee be commended for their efforts. Second: Jane Blystone

Jessica Young encourages attendance at San Diego spring 2014 convention.

Val Kibler encourages attendance at Washington, D.C., fall 2014 convention.

Jack Kennedy and Carrie Faust encourage attendance at Denver spring 2015 convention.

VI. Meeting adjourned 8:52 a.m.

Motion: Rod Satterthwaite. Second Margaret Sorrows. Motion carries.


Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (staff@jea.org), and we'll be happy to assist you.