Leading the way in scholastic journalism & media education since 1924

Scholastic Media Associations

ALABAMA
Alabama Scholastic Press Association (ASPA)
Meredith Cummings, director
The University of Alabama
Box 870172
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0172
205-348-2772
aspa@ua.edu
aspa.ua.edu

ARIZONA
Arizona Interscholastic Press Association (AIPA)

Melanie Allen, president
1001 N. Central Ave., Suite 670
Phoenix, AZ 85004
602-261-7655
azstudentpress@gmail.com
www.azaipa.org/

ARKANSAS
Arkansas Scholastic Press Association (ASPA) and
Arkansas Journalism Advisers Association (AJAA)

Allen Loibner-Waitkus, executive director
University of Arkansas
Pulaski Technical College
13000 Interstate 30
Little Rock, AR 72210-7016
501-912-7272
aloibnerwaitkus@pulaskitech.edu

CALIFORNIA

Journalism Education Association of Northern California (JEANC)
Kristy Blackburn and Paul Kandell, co-presidents
c/o CNPA
2701 K St.
Sacramento, CA 95816
jeanc@jeanc.org
jeanc.org

East Los Angeles JEA
Carrie Cunningham, president
cunningham_carrie@montebello.k12.ca.us

Tri-County/North Los Angeles JEA
Kim Messadieh, president
kmessadieh@gmail.com

Orange County JEA (OCJEA)
Lindsay Safe, president
Sunny Hills High School
1801 Warburton Way
Fullerton, CA 92833
Lindsay.safe@gmail.com

San Diego County JEA (SDCJEA)
Jessica Young, president
jessicajean.young@gmail.com

San Joaquin Valley Scholastic Press Association (SJVSPA)
Gary Rice, director
California State University, Fresno
Department of Media, Communications and Journalism
2225 E. San Ramon MF10
Fresno, CA 93740-8029
559-278-2026
grice@csufresno.edu

Southern California JEA (SCJEA)
Lacey Hatfield, president
Diego Rivera Learning Complex
6100 S. Central Ave.
Los Angeles, CA 90001
mrslchatfield@gmail.com
www.socaljea.org

Tri Counties JEA
Mark Riley, president
mark.riley@ouhsd.12.ca.us

CHINA
JEA China

Xumin Hu, director
Youth Impact China
359 Kangding Road K-Courtyard
First Floor
Shanghai, China 200040
86-15618737101
xumin.hu@youthimpactchina.com

COLORADO
Colorado Student Media Association (CSMA)
Jack Kennedy, executive director
9253 Sori Lane
Highlands Ranch, CO 80126
303-550-4755
jpkjournalism@gmail.com
coloradostudentmedia.com

CONNECTICUT
Connecticut Academic Press Association (CAPA)
Robert Karl, president
Norwalk High School
55 County St.
Norwalk, CT 06851
203-838-4481
karlr@norwalkps.org
capanow.com/

FLORIDA
Florida Scholastic Press Association Inc. (FSPA)
David Doucette, director
University of Florida
College of Journalism and Communications
3410 Weimer Hall
P.O. Box 118400
Gainesville, FL 32611-8400
352-214-8650
fspaoffice@gmail.com
myfspa.com

GEORGIA
Georgia Scholastic Press Association (GSPA)
Roxanna Gandia, director
Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communication
The University of Georgia
120 Hooper St.
Athens, GA 30602-3018
706-542-5022
Fax 706-542-7931
rmgandia@uga.edu
gspa@uga.edu
www.ugagspa.org

IDAHO
Idaho Student Journalism Association (ISJA)
Leslie Cheret, secretary
Rigby High School
290 N 3800 E
Rigby, ID 83442
208-745-7704
lcheret@sd251.org
idsja.org

ILLINOIS
Illinois JEA (IJEA)
Sally Renaud, executive director
Eastern Illinois University
Department of Journalism
2521 Buzzard Hall
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920
217-581-6003
serenaud@eiu.edu
ijea.net/

Northern Illinois School Press Association (NISPA)
Dennis Brown, president
Huntley High School
13719 Harmony Road
Huntley, IL 60142
847-659-6600
dbrown@district158.org
nispaonline.org

Scholastic Press Association of Chicago (SPAC)
Linda Jones, director
Roosevelt University
430 S. Michigan Ave.
Chicago, IL 60605
312-341-3813
Fax 773-779-9330
ljones@roosevelt.edu
spacchicago.tripod.com

Southern Illinois School Press Association (SISPA)
Cathy Wall, director
Harrisburg High School
333 W. College St.
Harrisburg, IL 62946
618-926-4402
cwall@harrisburg3.org
sispaiuc.wordpress.com

INDIANA
Indiana High School Press Association (IHSPA)
Diana Hadley, executive director
101 Branigin Blvd.
Shirk Hall
Franklin College
Franklin, IN 46131
317-738-8199 (director)
Fax 317-738-8234
dhadley@franklincollege.edu
ihspa.net

IOWA
Iowa High School Press Association (IHSPA)

Paul Jensen, executive director
100 Adler Journalism Bldg., Rm. E346
University of Iowa
Iowa City, IA 52242-2004
319-335-3318
Fax: 319-335-3989
paul-w-jensen@uiowa.edu
www.ihspa.org/

KANSAS
Journalism Educators of Metropolitan Kansas City (JEMKC)
Megan Palmer, president
palmerm@parkhill.k12.mo.us
jemkc.org/

Kansas Scholastic Press Association (KSPA)
Eric Thomas, executive director
University of Kansas
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
318 Stauffer-Flint Hall
1435 Jayhawk Blvd
Lawrence, KS 66045-7575
785-864- 0605
staff@kspaonline.org
www.kspaonline.org

KENTUCKY
Kentucky High School Journalism Association (KHSJA)
David Greer, administrator
101 Consumer Lane
Frankfort, KY 40601
502-223-8821
dgreer@khsja.com
khsja.org

LOUISIANA
Louisiana Scholastic Press Association (LSPA)

Brandon Rouzan, program director
LSU Office of Student Media
B-39 Hodges Hall
Baton Rouge, LA 70803
225-578-1697
lspamanship@lsu.edu
lsulspa.wordpress.com/

MARYLAND/DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA
Maryland-District of Columbia Scholastic Press Association (MDCSPA)

Marchelle Payne-Gassaway, executive director
P.O. Box 418
Mount Airy, MD 21771
301-831-0189
mdcspa@gmail.com
www.mdcspa.org/

MASSACHUSETTS
New England Scholastic Press Association (NESPA)
Helen F.  Smith, executive director
Boston University College of Communication
640 Commonwealth Ave.
Boston, MA 02215
617-353-3478
phsmith@igc.org
blogs.bu.edu/nespa

MICHIGAN
Michigan Interscholastic Press Association (MIPA)
Jeremy Steele, executive director
Michigan State University
School of Journalism
404 Wilson Road, Room 305
East Lansing, MI 48824
517-353-6761
mipa@msu.edu
www.mipamsu.org/

MINNESOTA
Journalism Educators of Minnesota (JEM)
Laurie Hansen, president
Stillwater High School
5701 Stillwater Blvd
Stillwater, MN 55082
651-351-8128
hansenl@stillwater.k12.mn.us
minnjournalism.org

Minnesota High School Press Association (MHSPA)
Laura Widmer, director
2221 University Ave SE, Suite 121
Minneapolis, MN 55414
612-625-8335
info@studentpress.org
mnpress.org

MISSISSIPPI
Mississippi Scholastic Press Association (MSPA)
R.J. Morgan, director
Department of Journalism
University of Mississippi
102 Farley Hall
University, MS 38677
662-915-7150
mississippischolasticpress@gmail.com
mississippischolasticpress.com

MISSOURI
Journalism Educators of Metropolitan Kansas City (JEMKC)
Megan Palmer, president
jemkc.org/

journalismSTL (formerly Sponsors of School Publications)
Travis Armknecht and Carrie Rapp, co-presidents
314-533-1791 (Armknecht)
314-729-2400 x 1129 (Rapp)

Missouri Interscholastic Press Association (MIPA)
Anna M. Romero, director
Missouri School of Journalism
132 Neff Annex
Columbia, MO 65211-1200
573-882-6031
mipajourno@gmail.com
mipajournalism.com

Missouri Journalism Education Association
Mitch Eden, president
Kirkwood High School
801 W. Essex Ave.
Kirkwood, MO 63122
info@missourijea.org
www.missourijea.org/

NEBRASKA

Nebraska High School Press Association (NHSPA)
Michelle Hassler, executive director
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
College of Journalism
and Mass Communications
232 Andersen Hall-UNL
Lincoln, NE 68588- 0474
402-472-2557
mhassler3@unl.edu
nhspaonline.org

NEVADA
Southern Nevada Society of Journalists (SNSJ)
Matthew LaPorte and Casandra Workman, co-presidents
Southwest Career and Technical Academy
7050 W. Shelbourne Ave.
Las Vegas, NV 89113
702-799-5766 ext. 4076
matthewlaportesnsj@gmail.com
followsnsj.com/

NEW JERSEY
Garden State Scholastic Press Association (GSSPA)
Susan Everett, treasurer/conference registrar
78 Lincoln St.
Jersey City, NJ 07307
201-653-5480
everetts@earthlink.net
gsspa.org

NEW MEXICO
New Mexico Scholastic Press Association (NMSPA)
Rebeca Zimmermann, president
Highland High School
4700 Coal Ave. S.E.
Albuquerque, NM 87108
979-255-4571
zimmermann@aps.edu

NEW YORK
Empire State Scholastic Press Association (ESSPA)
Sherri Taylor, director
Syracuse University
310 Newhouse One
Syracuse, NY 13244-2100
315-443-2626
Fax 315-443-3946
taylorsa@syr.edu
esspaspi.wordpress.com/esspa/

NORTH CAROLINA
North Carolina Scholastic Media Association (NCSMA)
Monica Hill, director
School of Media and Journalism
284 Carroll Hall, CB # 3365
UNC-Chapel Hill
Chapel Hill, NC 27599 -3365
919-962-4639
888-562-6276 (toll free)
ncsma@unc.edu
ncsma.unc.edu

OHIO
Ohio Scholastic Media Association (OSMA)
Candace Perkins Bowen, executive director
School of Journalism and Mass Communication
201B Franklin Hall
Kent State University
Kent, OH 44242
330-672- 8297
Fax 330-672-4064
cbowen@kent.edu
osmaonline.com/

OKLAHOMA
Oklahoma Scholastic Media (OSM/OIPA)
Melanie Wilderman, executive director
395 W. Lindsey, Rm. 2545
Norman, OK 73019
405-325-2453
Fax: 405-325-7384
osm-oipa@ou.edu
www.osm-oipa.org

OREGON
Northwest Scholastic Press (NWSP)

Anthony D. Whitten, executive director
University of Oregon
School of Journalism and Communication
George Turnbull Center
70 NW Couch St., Rm. 366A
Portland, OR 97209
503-412-3683
awhitten@uoregon.edu
nwscholasticpress.org

PENNSYLVANIA
Pennsylvania School Press Association (PSPA)
Paul Fantaski, president
P.O. Box 385
Manchester, PA 17345
pfantaski@gmail.com
paschoolpress.org/

SOUTH CAROLINA
South Carolina Scholastic Press Association (SCSPA)
Leslie Dennis, director
University of South Carolina
School of Journalism and Mass Communications
800 Sumter St., Rm. 118E
Columbia, SC 29208
803-777-6146
Fax 803-777-4103
dennislc@mailbox.sc.edu
scspa.sc.edu/

SOUTH DAKOTA
South Dakota High School Press Association (SDHSPA)
Teri Finneman, coordinator
Department of Journalism and Mass Communications
South Dakota State University
224 Yeager Hall Box 2235
Brookings, SD 57007
605-688-6515
teri.finneman@sdstate.edu

TENNESSEE
Tennessee High School Press Association (THSPA)
Jimmy McCollum, director
Lipscomb University
Department of Communication
1 University Park Dr.
Nashville, TN 37204 -3951
615-966-5607
THSPA@Lipscomb.edu
www.lipscomb.edu/thspa

TEXAS
Association of Texas Photography Instructors (ATPI)
Mark Murray, executive director
PO Box 121092
Arlington, TX 76012
682-867-7321
info@atpi.org
http://atpi.org

Interscholastic League Press Conference (ILPC)
Jeanne Acton, director
P.O. Box 8028
Austin, TX 78713-8028
512-471-5883
Fax 512-232-1499
jeacton@uiltexas.org
www.uiltexas.org/journalism/ilpc

Texas Association of Journalism Educators (TAJE)
Cindy Todd, executive director
P.O. Box 9187
Austin, TX 78763
W: 512-414-7539
director@taje.org
taje.org

VIRGINIA
Virginia Association of Journalism Teachers and Advisers (VAJTA)
Chris Waugaman, director
Prince George High School
7801 Laurel Spring Road
Prince George, VA 23875
804-733-2720
cwaugaman@pgs.k12.va.us
www.vajta.org

Virginia High School League Inc. (VHSL)
Lisa R. Giles, director of activities
1642 State Farm Blvd.
Charlottesville, VA 22911-8809
434-977-8475
lgiles@vhsl.org
vhsl.org

WASHINGTON
Washington Journalism Education Association (WJEA)
Kathy Schrier, executive director
P.O. Box 24389
Seattle, WA 98124
206-979-3234
wjeaexecutivedirector@gmail.com
wjea.org

WEST VIRGINIA
United High School Media (UHSM)
Sandy Savage-York, coordinator
100 Communications Building
Marshall University
1 John Marshall Drive
Huntington, WV 25755
304-696-2736
sandy.york@marshall.edu

West Virginia High School Journalism Teachers Association (WVHSJTA)
Gina Dahlia
West Virginia University
112 Martin Hall
PI Reed School of Journalism
PO Box 6010
Morgantown, WV 26506-6010
304-293-3505
Fax 304-293-3072
gina.dahlia@mail.wvu.edu

WISCONSIN
Northeastern Wisconsin Scholastic Press Association (NEWSPA)
Barb Benish, executive secretary
Department of Journalism
University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh
800 Algoma Blvd.
Oshkosh, WI 54901-8696
920-424-7145
Fax 920-424-7146
benish@uwosh.edu
www.uwosh.edu/journalism/newspa

WYOMING
Wyoming High School Student Press Association (WHSSPA)
Dawn Knudsvig, executive director
Arvada-Clearmont High School
1601 Meade Ave.
P.O. Box 125
Clearmont, WY 82835
307-758-4412
dknudsvig@shr3.k12.wy.us
www.whsspa.com

Password Reset
Please enter your email address and press [Return] or [Enter]. You will receive a new password via e-mail.

If you don't receive it within a few minutes, please call (785-532-5532) or email us (staff@jea.org), and we'll be happy to assist you.